Steering Committee

Sound Communities is guided by a steering committee comprised of leaders from the public, private, and non-profit sectors with a vision of leveraging our transit investment to bolster housing affordability, social equity and collective resilience on a regional scale. The committee was first established in 2018. Steering committee members operate in volunteer capacities, and not as representatives of their affiliated organizations. Steering committee members include:

Mercy Othello Plaza
Courtesy: Ankrom Moisan

Josh Brown, Puget Sound Regional Council

Gregg Colburn, University of Washington

Jessyn Farrell, Civic Ventures and former WA State Representative, 46th District

Al Levine, University of Washington

Patience Malaba, Housing Development Consortium

Rick Mohler, University of Washington

Peter Orser, Weyerhauser Real Estate CEO (retired)

Faith Pettis, Pacifica Law Group

Darryl Smith, HomeSight


In 2019, Sound Communities received $150,000 in funding from the Washington State Department of Commerce. In 2020, Sound Communities received $150,000 in funding from the JP Morgan Chase Foundation.

We are seeking additional funding for the site study and fiscal analysis.

Artspace Mt. Baker Lofts, Seattle
Photo Credit: William Wright Photography